K is for Koala Painter #AtoZchallenge

Koala painter has been a friend of mine for a very long time. To give you an idea, he did get his name from the KoalaPainter graphics program for Commodore 64, which I discovered when I first went to George R Allan grade school for grade 4–I was moved from French Immersion classes at Earl Kitchener to attend the gifted students program. It was quite a momentous change for someone so young, having to take the city bus to school instead of just walking two long-ish blocks down the street, meeting new classmates, but bonding over those fantastic computers and what they could do was something that brought us together.

2015-04-05-Koala-painter

I used a graphite stick to tone the background for this drawing, then erased it to get white sections like his chest and ears. I think I like the fact that this one is in gray instead of color.

DSC_0014

Did you have to change schools when you were very young? What do you remember about that?

One thought on “K is for Koala Painter #AtoZchallenge

  1. I always find the graphite stick how you use it on rough paper mimics the koala fur texture rather well!

    I had to switch schools for the first time in grade 1, as my mom got a job just then. My first 1st grade was all about standing in corners for allegedly being nasty when I really was afraid. With my second half of 1st grade in the other school I became a class member and my lessons began. I, too, had a very long way to school from then on. But it was worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

