W is for Watch #AtoZchallenge

I think today is my last non-animal still life in the A to Z challenge. Again from Everyday Matters–I’m pretty sure this is one I did before I decided to participate in the A to Z: my watch.

edm008

I guess I’m still old-fashioned enough that I like having a wrist-watch. I usually have several devices close to me which can tell me the time, but never as easily as just looking at my wrist. (And I guess I’m not an early enough adopter to have a smartwatch yet.)

I really like a lot about this drawing – the faint shadow, the shapes of the watch band. The shapes of the numbers themselves are a little weird, but I don’t mind that much. I drew this in light graphite pencil then filled it in with charcoal pencil as well as heavier graphite.

watch_photo

Do you wear a watch? Why or why not?

3 thoughts on “W is for Watch #AtoZchallenge

  1. I actually like the shapes of the numbers best–can’t really explain why. Perhaps because they give me a sense as if the watch was from a different world?…

    Myself I sometimes still use a wristwatch when I leave the house, and I like even more old-fashioned ones, with moving hands… 😉

    Like

  2. I wear a Fitbit…and I have the basic one that doesn’t tell time. Just dots telling me how close I am to reaching 10,000 steps for the day. I’m usually either sitting in front of my laptop or I have my phone close by, but there have been occasions when I’ve wished I’d had a watch. Stuck in sessions in conferences, for instance, where you don’t want to pull your phone out and be rude but you want to know if this session is EVER going to end!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

