USB Christmas tree

I’m not really one for Christmas decorations at home. I live alone, and go up to visit my sister and her family for the day on or around Christmas, and usually I’m too busy to do much around my own apartment. But many years ago, I found this little tree–it was probably actually at a Radio Shack, before they lost that brand and became The Source here in Canada. Including the base, the whole tree is less than a foot tall, and it has a cable you can plug into a USB power source to make the fiberglass ‘branches’ light up and cycle through different colors.

This is one of the first non-animal-friend still lifes I drew after I started drawing bears and other animal friends. I love it as a demonstration of proportion and perspective, and the use of color and shapes as details to draw the eye.

xmastreetree-photo

Do you like holiday decorations? What’s your favorite?

Leave a Reply

