Everyday Matters 320 – A rooster I gave away

This is one of the first still life challenges I tried from the Everyday Matters list. The date I marked down on the page is anachronistic; I suspect it was actually drawn on October 24th in 2015, and for some reason I was thinking of September.

This rooster was one of a whole pack of barnyard animals I got at the local dollar store as gifts for my local Nanowrimo writers. The animal figures are quite popular as prizes for reaching your writing goal at a write-in or winning a word war, and I dropped one into the goody bags for everybody who attended the Nanowrimo kick-off party in 2015.

I really like the effect of the outline in this drawing, and the color, though the mix of graphite grey with the red to indicate shading didn’t work out so well. And I like the shadow on the ground. I didn’t take a comparison photo at the time, so the lighting is different and the rooster is from a different pack, but seems quite similar. 😉

edm320

rooster

Can you remember something that you were proud to give away? 🙂

One thought on “Everyday Matters 320 – A rooster I gave away

  1. I gave away a pizza slice and a ten dollar bill to a homeless person who was fast asleep at the time. I’ll never know for sure if they received it (he or she was so bundled up I could not discern gender) or if someone else came along afterwards and took it for themselves. This was at least 10 years ago and I never told anyone about that until now. That one I had kept just for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

