Charcoal after Picasso

This was one of the Betty Edwards exercises that I rather liked; copying a Picasso self-portrait in charcoal. It’s the 1899-1900 Barcelona self-portrait, if you’d like to look it up for a comparison.

I rather like how I re-interpreted the facial features and the neck even when I was trying to copy faithfully. It was also a great exercise to get a feel for what charcoal does well and not so well.

Have you ever tried to copy somebody else’s image of themselves? What have you learned?

One thought on “Charcoal after Picasso

  1. Oh, I remember that exercise from the book, too, awesome!
    Hm, I think it helps you see them with their own eyes? Which I always find a rare and exciting experience. I really recommend it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

